The Danish Motor Vehicle Agency has four vehicle registration offices in Jutland (Aalborg and Aarhus), on Funen (Odense) and on Zealand (Høje-Taastrup).

Office hours:

  • Monday 9.00-16.00
  • Tuesday-Friday 9.00-14.00

The vehicle registration offices accept payments by cash, Dankort and credit card. 

Closed these days

The vehicle registration offices are closed on all public holidays, the day after Ascension Thursday (Kristi himmelfartsdag) and 25. to 29. December and 31. December.

New rules for payment at vehicle registration offices

From 1 July 2021, you can only pay for goods and services that require that you appear in person at the vehicle registration offices. This means that from 1 July 2021, it will no longer be possible to pay e.g.:

  • Vehicle registration tax
  • Periodic vehicle taxes - nor after confiscation of number plates
  • Third number plate.

In future, these goods and services must be paid by payment card via the internet or by electronic money transfer. 

Log on and select 'Motorregistret' (Register of motor vehicles)

In the Register of motor vehicles you can:

  • re-register ordinary vehicles
  • order third set of number plates
  • order replacement number plates
  • order new registration certificate

In the case of special vehicles, you need to contact one of our four motor registry offices. This applies to:

  • vehicles for diplomats
  • vehicles for diplomats' technical/administrative staff
  • vehicles for international organisations and institutions
  • vehicles subject to 'Kommunallåneklausul' (here: cars adapted for disabled drivers)
  • airport vehicles
  • vehicles used for track racing
  • vehicles to be fitted with the fire brigade's own number plates

You can have temporary stickers released immediately by ordering them at one of our vehicle registration offices or in one of the following custom clearance offices.

City Street and house no. Postal code
Hirtshals Dalsagervej 3 9850 Hirtshals
Esbjerg Taurusvej 5 6700 Esbjerg
Frederikshavn Færgehavnsvej 31 9900 Frederikshavn
Padborg Toldbodvej 8 6330 Padborg
Nørre Alslev Herthadalvej 7 4840 Nørre Alslev
Rønne Munch Petersens Vej 8 3700 Rønne

The vehicle registration offices issue temporary stickers during office hours (see office hours above).

The customs clearance offices issue temporary stickers from 9.00 to 14.00. Find customs clearance offices (only in Danish) at the web page of The Danish Customs Agency.

Read more about temporary stickers

Please see our legal guide (in Danish) for further legal information.